Letting My Inner Child Out

So, I’ll admit it, even though I love my children to little bits and love being a SAHM, I sometimes look at my day in two parts:
Part 1: How To Keep Everyone Sane Until Nap
Part 2: How To Keep Everyone Sane Until Bedtime

This morning, however, the day worked a little differently. I had found some of my old doll toys at my parents house by chance the night before and brought them home for my daughter to play with. At first, I thought this would be a cool activity for just her but it soon became Mommy and Emmy playing dolls for hours and hours and hours and hours.

I found old barbie doll clothes, an old American girl doll clothes, an old crib for a baby to sleep in and we made a MESS out of the living room, well, living in it. As we were playing, I felt like I was twelve five again, having so much fun playing with old friends and making memories. The morning was almost therapeutic for me and it made me feel nostalgic for the days my sisters and I played barbies for hours on end together.

Isaac would join in, in case you were wondering, mostly in his Mr. Destructo demeanor, roaring like a monster and grabbing some toy and hitting the dolls as if to say, “I will join in on your play but I will make the game more suited for the Y chromosome I possess.”

I could barely tear MYSELF away from our game when lunchtime came about. After we cleaned up a bit, Emmy came up and told me I was her best friend. I about melted into a huge puddle on the ground.

Can they stay little forever? Because I really don’t want to know what she’s going to think of me in ten years.

20120806-131654.jpg

20120806-131710.jpg

Leave a Reply

