The Good, The Bad and The Messy

This morning was ridiculous. It was one of those mornings that, looking back at it you think, “Oh…haha…yeah, that was bad.” Among nausea, a headache, a baby that didn’t nap longer than 20 mins and a 2.5 year old that was pushing every imaginable button you can think of, I looked down at the living room that I had deep cleaned not two days ago, saw food meshed into couches, cheerios crunched into the floor, every book removed from the bookshelf, and two crying children. Damage control, I’m thinking. Where do I start? After cleaning some food off the couch and literally having both kids hanging off of my legs, a fight that brews between them that requires separation and a time out I looked at the clock. Only 10:30 am. I threw sunscreen and sippies in my baby bag, jumped into the car and tried to decide what the heck I was going to next.

I decided the park was my best option. We would be epic parkking it up. So, we made a stop at Trader Joes for some lunch and picnic supplies which turned out to be an adventure in and of itself.

See, Emmy loves the toddler-sized grocery carts, it’s normally very cute and adorable. Unfortunately, she was not paying attention and trying to do the opposite of what I asked her to do and running into people while she was doing it and any time I touched the cart, she threw herself on the ground and tantrumed. On top of that, Isaac was screaming bloody murder and trying to do anything he could to get out of my arms. Emmy was throwing everything she could find in the cart and I was screaming, yanking, flustered and yelling “NO!” any chance I got. Yes. I was THAT mom with the ridiculous kids in the store. I apologize for all of us out there.

Once we got into the checkout line, both kids started full on tantruming. I was ignoring it, trying just to pay, and out of the corner of my eye I see this mom with a 3-3.5 year old, adorably perfect dressed ballerina, who is standing quietly, and perfectly with her mommy (who was dressed in a spotless sundress and looked relaxed and showered). I heard at least 3 or 4 “Oh, SHE is adorable!” comments while people would glance over at me with a look like, “CONTROL YOUR CHILDREN, WOMAN!” Don’t you love it when your “Boy, your hands are full.” moments are broadcasted for the whole world to see?

Finally, we made it to the park. As soon as we got there, both kids became new children. I laid out the picnic lunch and fun ensued. I felt the morning and the stress completely melt away and we began to act silly, play and eat our special picnic lunch. A lady passed by, complimented my cute children and said, “How wonderful that you do such special things with your children! That’s a sign of a good mom.” I smiled appreciatively at the kind, encouraging woman and laughed in my head. If only she’d seen my 10 minutes ago, I thought.
Uploaded from the Photobucket iPhone App

Uploaded from the Photobucket iPhone App

Uploaded from the Photobucket iPhone App

Uploaded from the Photobucket iPhone App

Uploaded from the Photobucket iPhone App

After 4 hours spend at the park, we came home and naptime began. I looked at the pictures of our time at the park and realized the only documentation of my day was the happy. Most of my pictures are of the happy. One day, years from now, I’ll look back and think, “wow, that was such a happy time.” and giggle to myself when I remember the not so pretty:
Uploaded from the Photobucket iPhone App

Happy Bright Friday!

3 responses to “The Good, The Bad and The Messy

  1. Sometimes it’s better to just focus on the good! ♥ I love this quote “there’s no way to be a perfect mom, but a million things you can do to be a good mom!”

  2. It was a wonderful Bright week….did you have a nice Pascha?

  3. Yes, focusing on the good = good. I try, I try. Thanks for sharing that quote. I loved it.

    Pascha was nice! It’s hard with little ones though! Sooo exhausting. Bright Week was very Bright! How about you?

Leave a Reply

