The Birds of the Air

Emily gained 2 pounds! Within three weeks! Yay!

We got this bit of good news at the doctor’s office yesterday. My stomach was all tied up in knots all of the way to the appointment. When they put her on the scale and I read the good news, I could have started jumping up and down for joy. Such a load was lifted off of my mind.

With all of the silly things that I trifle myself with, I was beginning to think of all of the blessings I have.

I’m reminded of this verse: Therefore I tell you, do not worry about your life, what you will eat or drink; or about your body, what you will wear. Is not life more important than food, and the body more important than clothes? 26Look at the birds of the air; they do not sow or reap or store away in barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not much more valuable than they? 27Who of you by worrying can add a single hour to his life? Matthew 25-34.

I heard this verse read this morning while listening to Ancient Faith Radio and I was really blessed by it. I have been struggling with the sin of being anxious. I’ve let anxiety rule over my life. I was reminded by my father confessor that when I start to worry, that I stop putting my trust in God. This doesn’t mean you don’t have to concern yourself with providing for yourself. We always have to work and put a lot of effort into finding a way to make ends meet. But to be anxious and troubled, and to let this rule your life is a different matter.

Trying to leave any other anxieties I have behind for good, I spent an afternoon with my daughter. She is amazing. She is such a darling person. I sometimes forget that I’m raising a human being — not just taking care of a baby. Emmy is her own person and to ask her to develop at the pace I want her to takes away from her person — her own unique personality. She is going to have different gifts, likes and dislikes, goals and personality than any other person in the world. And she is worth more to God than the entire cosmos. She has changed my life and has softened my heart in so many ways. She is our blessing and I don’t want to change one thing about her.

6 responses to “The Birds of the Air

  1. It’s hard to not be anxious about our children – but that is such an amazing verse and one that we need to be reminded of.

    And, whoot on the two pounds!

  2. She is a darling little human, I agree. She is just the way she needs to be 🙂 Thanks for blogging again and for the encouragement to blog…I just may post something today, we’ll see!

  3. Pingback: saints peter and paul and the know-it-all « the bluecanopy

  4. Yay!!! I’m gonna go check! I’m so glad you’re blogging.

  5. What great news! I wanted to let you know that I didn’t mean to invalidate your concerns in my previous quote. I get worrying as a mother, but am encouraged and resonate with the lessons you’re learning above. At my baby shower, someone wrote in my scrapbook, “Reject any over anxiety in Jesus’ name”. I’ve come back to that so many times! Dan and I reassure ourselves often with the fact that Emma is our gift from God to steward, and she’s really His, not ours. For some reason, this is so calming. Thanks for putting all you’re learning in such beautiful words to encourage others.

  6. Susanne, first of all you never invalidated my concerns :).

    Your last comment was very uplifting for me to read. It is so true that our children are given to us “on loan” to steward. They are God’s children and they are in the palm of His Hand.

    Thanks for your interest in my blog.

Leave a comment