Lack Of Motivation Wednesdays

Today I lack all kinds of motivation. I basically am staring at my home and I know how much I need to get done and would rather play with my daughter or read rather than clean it.

Wednesdays are getting this way to me lately. The beginning of the week tends to start out with such gusto and then my momentum is usually dwindling by Wednesday and Thursday. Hopefully, this blog will motivate me. There’s nothing like admitting your faults to the interwebz that makes you want to change your bad habits.

I have come to the conclusion that homekeeping just does NOT come naturally to me but I am not willing to be defeated by it. That’s what “struggle” really means right? It does not mean you have been defeated but that you are constantly wrestling with your opponent.

I need to make a housekeeping schedule. I do have one problem though. I am afraid of schedules. I am afraid that they are going to control my life and the second I go OFF schedule my life is going to spin out of control and I will end up chucking the whole plan out the window and end up with a messy house, being stressed that I didn’t get my chores done and end up doing a massive amount of cleaning on only one day the entire week. Or worse! I might end up stuck at home all day, every day if I want to get anything done. I just don’t know how to plan playdates, community, family time, exercise, prayer time, meditations and naptimes and a baby into all of my life. I mean, what if Emmy skips her morning naps when I am scheduled to clean the kitchen and that day I have to be out and about during her next nap? What if she is super fussy when I’m planning on exercising? What if i have plans with friends during the time I am planning on doing chores? I guess it wouldn’t hurt to try. I just really don’t want to feel chained to my house but what I’m doing right now isn’t working so well anyways.

*Sigh* Oh, the trivial troubles of a modern day housewife.  Maybe it’s time to lay aside all earthly cares?

Remember me.


Housekeeping is like being caught in a revolving door.
– Marcelene Cox

2 responses to “Lack Of Motivation Wednesdays

  1. Start slowly Erica – don’t over schedule yourself, since that’s not your tendency anyway. (And scheduling out every minute of everyday would drive most people nuts). I’m kind of half in half – but I totally relate to what you’re saying. I have to say, that some perameters actually are helpful, because they define when you have free time!

  2. Thanks Wendy. I appreciate the $0.02. I am working on finding a way to be organized. I want to get to the point where I don’t have to clean things when they are crazy messy. I want it to be taken care of quick and easy. I think I am making this harder on myself than it needs to be.

Leave a Reply

