Fathers and Daughters

I have great experience with the Father/Daughter relationship. There is something really special about it. I read a book by Dr. Kevin Leman called “What a Difference a Daddy Makes.” And it was all about the dynamic of a father in a daughter’s life.

I have so many fond memories of my dad playing with us. He was a good dad for girls. He was sorely outnumbered in his household (at one point he was the only male against SIX other females). He was awesome for us though. I have memories of reading comics together in the hammock, of playing at the park together, him buckling my church shoes and making sure my socks were folded down  (I used to ask him why he would do this with me and not fold his own socks down. He always answered, “Girls always fold their socks down.”), guitar lessons, pool hugs, reading T.S. Eliot (over and over and over again), and dinner time discussions.

Remembering all of this, I watch my husband with our little precious girlie. When we got pregnant we thought we knew what gender we wanted. Oh, God knew us better than we knew ourselves (big surprise). Sean is so protective of his little girl. He dotes on her and loves her. Emmy is starting to really attach herself to him too. She’s becoming a bit of a daddy’s girl. When he walks in the door after work, she’ll squeal and lunge toward him. They’ll play and rough house for awhile after he gets home. It warms my heart every time Sean calls her “sweet girl.”

Happy Father’s Day!

“One father is more than a hundred schoolmasters.” — George Herbert

“Sometimes the poorest man leaves his children the richest inheritance.” — Ruth E. Renkel

3 responses to “Fathers and Daughters

  1. This is so precious. 🙂

  2. This made me smile!

  3. Thank you, Nena! That brungs back so many other sweet memories– I love you.
    Papi

Leave a Reply

