Prayer for Homemakers

I’m trying really hard to settle into this role of homemaker. I’m not very good at it and being 9 months pregnant doesn’t help much either. But I found this prayer today that really helped. Thought I’d share:

Dear Lord, help me to be a true

Homemaker!
May I have the strength and the will to do the humble tasks, that make a house a fit abode for my loved ones. Clean floors, shining china, dainty curtains, clean sheets, good food, a cheery fire-may my willing hands make these things possible.
But Father, let me remember that man does not live by bread alone, that material things but make a proper setting for life’s real treasures of mind and spirit. Give me patience and understanding and kindness and humor and love in abundance, and charity for all. May the spirit of happiness, of joys and sorrows shared, of unity, of the peace that passeth understanding linger here! Help me to keep the path to Thee open and easy to find for the little ones in my keeping. And let there be laughter here.
And last, dear Lord, help me to remember the stranger without the door. May there be warmth enough on our hearth to share with him.
Is this too much for one so weak, so full of faults as I, to ask? At least it can be a goal toward which to strive, and to Thee all things are possible. Amen
Remember me.
Be in behaviour as becometh holiness, not false accusers, not given to much wine, teachers of good things; teach the young women to be sober, to love their husbands, to love their children, to be discreet, chaste, keepers at home, good, obedient to their own husbands, that the word of God be not blasphemed. Titus 2:3-5
3 responses to “Prayer for Homemakers

  1. I’m not very good at housekeeping, but I send you my humble prayers.

  2. I appreciate them. It’s been hard. I made a list of things I wanted to accomplish today and so far I’ve done most of the list which makes me feel pretty good. But it’s hard to be in charge of the housework…

    Any encouragement/advice is incredibly appreciated here.

  3. I am passing this along without following it, but my mom raves about the SHE (Sidetracked Home Executives) plan, which was tweaked by Flylady. Both are I think .com or just Google.

Leave a Reply

