American Idol

I have been following American Idol this year. Normally, I’m aware of it but I have never gotten into like I have this year. I found an artist I loved almost from the beginning. DAVID COOK! Who also happened to be the winning contestant this year!

The first we heard him was when he sang “Living on a Prayer” by Bon Jovi and almost immediately he showed his true “rocker” colors. He’s not just a singer he plays guitar and wanted to start a rock band. At first, you aren’t so sure that he has the versitality to win the competition. But he shows many different sides throughout the season singing songs from, “Billie Jean” (he changed the arrangement up…it was beautiful) to “Music of the Night” from Phantom of the Opera. He was amazing. The only reason I watched American Idol was to watch him perform. I really got into him as an artist and really loved to listen to him sing. I bought most of his music from ITunes. And thanks to Sue we were able to go to the American Idol finale live last night!

It was a really cool experience, we got to see Mike Myers, ZZ Top (who performed “Sharp Dressed Man” with David Cook), Brian Adams, Donna Summers and Nash (from Crosby, Stills and Nash). We also saw a boy band called the Jonas Brothers…but that was kind of boring. We all had a good time and the winning song by David Cook was called “Time of my Life” which I downloaded this morning and listened to the lyrics more closely. The lyrics, I think actually can be used to inspire someone in the Christian life. When I listened to it for the first time, after the concert, I really did feel that it spoke to some of the coldness I had in my heart about living in the moment and really appreciating the time God has given us to live the right way.

Here are the lyrics:

Time of My Life

I’ve been waiting for my dreams to turn into something
I could believe in
And looking for that magic rainbow on the horizon
I couldn’t see it.
Until I let go, gave into love
watched all the bitterness burn.
Now I’m coming alive, body and soul
feeling my world start to turn.

(Chorus) And I’ll taste every moment
and live it out loud
Oh, this is the time
this is the time to be
more than a name or face in the crowd
I know, this is the time
this is the time of my life.

Holding onto things that vanished into the air
and left me in pieces
But now I’m rising from the ashes
finding my wings,
and all that I needed was there all along
within my reach,
As close as the beat of my heart.

(Chorus)

(Bridge)
Now out on the edge of forever, ready to rollll.
Keeping my feet on the ground
arms open wide
face to the suuun.

(Chorus x 3)

Also, here is David Cook performing Music of the Night:

Music of the Night is kind of a dark song, but he sings it very well.

And here he is singing with ZZ Top:

Leave a Reply

